CS345 / MA345 / CS541
Automata Theory and Formal Languages
Fall 2019
Lectures

Course notes
Solutions

Recordings: Click on the lecture number.

Exercises: 1.2.3 means Exercise 3 of Section 1.2; 1.2.* means all exercises from Section 1.2; 1.* means all exercices from Chap. 1. Exercises, in this context, means both exercises and study questions.


Date Reading Exercises Assignments
1 Mon, Sep 2


2 Wed, Sep 4 Preface
Chap. 1 (Introduction)
Chap. 2 (Finite Automata)
to end of Sect. 2.1


3 Fri, Sep 6 Sect. 2.2
to middle of p. 13


4 Mon, Sep 9 Sect. 2.2, middle of p. 13
to end
Sect. 2.3 to Example 2.6
Preface of the solutions
2.2.*
2.3.1 to 2.3.4

5 Wed, Sep 11 Sect. 2.3, Example 2.7
to end
2.3.5 to 2.3.8

6a, 6b, 6c Fri, Sep 13 Sect. 2.4 to bottom of p. 29
Assignment policy
2.4.1 to 2.4.5 A1
7 Mon, Sep 16 Sect. 2.4, top of p. 30
to end
Sect. 2.5 to top of p. 39
2.4.6 to 2.4.8
2.5.1, 2.5.3

8 Wed, Sep 18 Sect. 2.5, top of p. 39
to top of p. 42
2.5.2, 2.5.4

9 Fri, Sep 20 Sect. 2.5, top of p. 42
to end
Chap. 3 (NFA's)
to end of Sect. 3.1
2.5.5
3.1.*
A2
10 Mon, Sep 23 Sect. 3.2 3.2.*
11 Wed, Sep 25 Sect. 3.3 to middle of p. 63 3.3.2
12 Fri, Sep 27 Sect. 3.3, middle of p. 63
to end
3.3.1, 3.3.3, 3.3.4 A3
13 Mon, Sep 30 Sect. 3.4
3.4.*
14 Wed, Oct 2 Chap. 4 (Regular Expr)
to end of Sect. 4.3
4.1.*, 4.3.*
15 Fri, Oct 4 Sect. 4.4 4.4.* A4
16 Mon, Oct 7 Sect. 4.5 to top of p. 110

17 Wed, Oct 9 Sect. 4.5, top of p. 110
to end
Sect. 4.6
4.5.*, 4.6.*

18 Fri, Oct 11 Chap. 5 (Nonreg Languages)
to end of Example 5.1
5.1.1

19 Wed, Oct 16 Sect. 5.1, Example 5.2
to end
5.1.2, 5.1.3

20 Fri, Oct 18 Sect. 5.2 to top of p. 133 5.2.*
A5
21 Mon, Oct 21 Sect. 5.2, top of p. 133
to end
Chap. 6 (CFL's)
to middle of p. 138


22 Wed, Oct 23 Sect. 6.1, middle of p. 138
to end
Sect. 6.2
Sect. 6.3
to end of Example 6.7
6.1.*

23 Fri, Oct 25 Sect. 6.3, Example 6.8
to end
6.3.*
A6
24 Mon, Oct 28 Sect. 6.4
Sect. 6.5 to top of p. 152
6.4.*

25 Wed, Oct 30 Sect. 6.5, top of p. 152
to end
6.5.*

26 Fri, Nov 1 Sect. 6.6 to middle of p. 158

A7
27 Mon, Nov 4 Sect. 6.6, middle of p. 158
to end


28 Wed, Nov 6 Sect. 6.7
6.7.*

29 Fri, Nov 8 Sect. 6.8
6.8.*
A8
30 Mon, Nov 11 (Optional: Sect. 6.9)


31 Wed, Nov 13 Chap. 7 (TM's)
to end of Sect. 7.1
7.1.*

32 Fri, Nov 15 Sect. 7.2


33 Mon, Nov 18 Sect. 7.3
Sect. 7.4 to bottom of p. 194
7.3.*

34 Wed, Nov 20 Sect. 7.4, bottom of p. 194
to end
Sect. 7.5
7.4.*, 7.5.*

35 Fri, Nov 22 Chap. 8 (Undecidability)
to end of Sect. 8.2
8.2.*

36 Mon, Nov 25 Sect. 8.3 and 8.4 8.3.*, 8.4.*
A9
37 Mon, Dec 2 Sect. 8.5 8.5.*

38 Wed, Dec 4 Sect. 8.6 to middle of p. 219 8.6.1 to 8.6.7

39 Fri, Dec 6 Sect. 8.6, middle of p. 219
to end
Sect. 8.7
(Optional: proof of Thm 8.20)
8.6.8, 8.6.9
(Optional: 8.7.1)
A10
40 Mon, Dec 9 Sect. 8.8
8.8.*

Course notes
Solutions